Question about installation/security

Jun 28, 2007 at 3:52 PM
Hello,

I'm very excited about this project as it is a much needed web part in the MOSS world and I wouldn't even know where to begin to create something like this. I acknowledge right now that I am a complete beginner at all of this.

I installed the dll to the gac using gacutil and imported the dwp to a site using the gui in my test environment; changed the web.config for the portal; but when I try to use the uploaded web part, I am getting the error:
Unable to add selected web part(s). A Web Part or Web Form Control on this Page cannot be displayed or imported. The type is not registered as safe.

What am I missing here in the setup?

Thanks!
Mindy
Coordinator
Jun 29, 2007 at 12:29 AM
Mindy,
If you are getting this error then either the web.config change you made is not correct, or you changed the wrong web.config.

Please let me know what you did to find the web.config, and what did you change.

Ishai

mindy wrote:
Hello,

I'm very excited about this project as it is a much needed web part in the MOSS world and I wouldn't even know where to begin to create something like this. I acknowledge right now that I am a complete beginner at all of this.

I installed the dll to the gac using gacutil and imported the dwp to a site using the gui in my test environment; changed the web.config for the portal; but when I try to use the uploaded web part, I am getting the error:
Unable to add selected web part(s). A Web Part or Web Form Control on this Page cannot be displayed or imported. The type is not registered as safe.

What am I missing here in the setup?

Thanks!
Mindy

Jun 29, 2007 at 3:20 PM
Hi Ishai,

I found the web.config by going to the web site in IIS, right-clicking and choosing properties, then using the Local Path from the Home Directory Tab. Browsed to the Local Path and edited from there...

I added the following line to <Safe Controls>: